Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Home
Ridgeriders
Shapes On The Landscape
The Work Of The Devil
Along The Downs
The Drovers Song
Turnpike Reel
Close Your Eyes
Low Southern Slopes
What Celia Sees
Never Without A Thief Or Twain
Along The Pilgrim's Way
Michael Morey's Hump
Mossing We'll Go
Up On The Ridgeway
Smugglers Road
Betteshanger Treasure
Dorset Cursus
The Ridgeriders Band
Ridgeriders Links

BBC Kent

'it is forever England, it is forever gone'

True Miners Every One

End Of The Shift at Betteshanger
Photo: Val Wilmer/Format

Betteshanger Colliery

Standing on the top of a hill between Deal and Sandwich, Betteshanger Colliery was first opened in 1921. Proposals were put forward to extend the workings out under the sea, with further pits to be sunk on the Sandhills near the old Coach and Horses inn to the north of Deal.  The colliery took its name from the nearby village of Betteshanger, although probably nearer to both Northbourne and Finglesham.  A small pit village grew up around the colliery buildings to house some of the workers, but the bulk of the miners were housed in a large new estate on the south side of Deal.

Coal and spoil was carried by an enclosed conveyor belt system down the hill, under the main Deal-Sandwich road and across farmland to the tip by the railway.

The colliery finally closed in 1989.  Just a few buildings remain on the top of the hill.  The slag heap on the other side of the Deal-Sandwich road has been landscaped to improve the view.  The signal box and one other building remain where the sidings were on the Deal-Sandwich main line.

For pictures of Betteshanger colliery today, click here.  This page also includes historic pictures of the colliery.

Pictures can also be found here

The Betteshanger Treasure
 
 
From Yorkshire, and from Wales they came,
True miners everyone,
To open up the coalfield
Beneath the garden loam.
 
The black Betteshanger treasure
All under Kentish soil
Is safely gathered in now, through
A century of toil
 
And in some corner of this island lies
A field whose work is done;
It is forever England
It is forever gone
 
The Kentish coal, as black as jet,
Will see the light no more;
Now artifacts and memories
Are all they're digging for
 
And in some corner of this island lies
A field whose work is done;
It is forever England
It is forever gone
 
Phil Beer/Ashley Hutchings

Betteshanger Colliery pithead

Maria Plena Gracie Mater Misecordie
SCA Maria

Based in the South East of England
near the coastal towns of Dover,
Folkestone and the historic city
of Canterbury.
Deal based Betteshanger Brass Band
formed in 1932 by miner George Gibb
and his colleagues as a tool
for relaxation after their
days toil underground.
The Band can now be found at
the 'Betteshanger Social Welfare Sports Club'
situated at the Welfare Sports Ground,
Cavell Square, Mill Hill, Deal, Kent.

taken not long after the colliery
was closed down

taken in 2000 by Joel Porter
Thanks Joel!

Welcome!

a monthly magazine on all
aspects of Kentish history

a brief overview

Betteshanger Brass Band

Massive thanks go out to Frazer Nairn
for this site, which includes the
Betteshanger Colliery pictures

Betteshanger Colliery in 1989, the year it closed
Photograph Frazer Nairn

Betteshanger Colliery. Building 1. 2000
Picture Joel Porter 2002

ridgeriders website is
2004/2005/2006/2007/2008/2009/
2010/2011/2012/2013.2014
all rights reserved